SEG Student Challenge Bowl

The SEG Challenge Bowl competition is an international contest testing student’s breadth and depth of knowledge about the field of geoscience. The quiz-show format results in intense competition as the contestants attempt to “buzz in” first with the answers to challenging geoscience questions. The contest itself is in the form of a short-answer multiple-choice quiz on topics in the geosciences (geology, geophysics, geography, and some geodesy), as well as some questions about the history of our science and SEG itself. Questions range in difficulty from second or third year undergraduate level to first-year graduate school. All geoscience students are encouraged to participate in this unique event which combines knowledge, competition, and fun.

The SEG first launched the SEG Challenge Bowl program in 2006. Since then, much excitement has been created on campuses in the USA and abroad. Local organizations host regional competitions and the winning teams, consisting of two students each, attend the SEG Annual Meeting and compete in the world championships. The number of teams competing around the globe has exploded from just six teams in 2007 to more than 50 teams in recent years.

Gulf Coast (Regional) CHALLENGE BOWL

The GSH Annual Spring Symposium includes a Regional Competition of the SEG Challenge Bowl. The winning team has their expenses paid to attend the Finals at the SEG Annual Meeting.

The 2022 Gulf Coast Challenge Bowl winners:  Ethan Conrad and Edward Clennett, University of Texas at Austin. Congratulations!

Previous Winners:
2021 -
Brandon Shuck and Andrew Gase, University of Texas at Austin
2020 - Erik Urquidi-Delgado, University of Texas at El Paso
Michael Martinez, University of Houston
2019 - Manny Paez and Boming Wu, University of Houston
2018 -
Carl Buist and Joshua Flores, University of Houston
2017 - Tianbi Ma and Zhencong Zhou, University of Tulsa
2016 - Joan Marie Blanco and Alexandre Silva, University of Houston
2015 - Maria Amirzadeh and Zohreh Souri, University of Houston
2014 - Venkatesh Anantharamu and Elita De Abreu, University of Houston
2013 - Khushboo Arora and Menal Gupta, University of Texas
2012 - Brandon Bush and Sireesh Dadi, Texas A&M University
2009 - Maximiliano Bezada and Amy Lasseigne, Rice University
2007 - Scott Falconer and Charles Puryear, University of Houston


World Champions are:

The World Championship is held as a special event during the SEG Annual meeting.

2022 World Champions:  Ethan Conrad and Edward Clennet, University of Texas at Austin.

Previous Winners:
2021 - Denver
Adam Mattson & William Sessums, University of Houston, USA
2020 - Houston Adam Brudner & Afeez Papoola, University of Toronto
2019 - San Antonio Sol Bejaran & Rosario Etchegoyen, Universidad Nacional de La Plata, Argentina
2018 - Anaheim Santiago Actis & Abelardo Romero, Universidad Nacional de La Plata, Argentina
2017 - Houston Ian Burron & Parth Pokar, University of Manitoba, Canada
2016 - Dallas Scott Meek and Trevor Tuttle, Brigham Young University, USA
2015 - New Orleans Andrey Konkov, Institute of Applied Physics, Moldova
Nizhny Novgorod & Rasesh Saraiya, Indian Institute of Technology, Bombay, India
2014 - Denver Bartosz Gierlach, AGH University of Science & Technology, Poland
Paulina Kotlarek, Adam Mickiewicz University, Poland
2013 - Houston Tim Haywood & Taras Zaporozan, University of Manitoba, Canada
2012 - Las Vegas Darragh O’Connor, Dalhousie University
Adrian Smith, University of Calgary, Canada
2011 - San Antonio Matt Davis & Forrest Roberts, Brigham Young University, USA
2010 - Denver Jorden Hayes & Amit Padhi, University of Wyoming, USA
2009 - Houston Maximiliano Bezada & Amy Lasseigne, Rice University, USA
2008 - Las Vegas Jason McCrank & Maria Quijada, University of Calgary, Canada
2007 - San Antonio Scott Falconer & Charles Puryear, University of Houston, USA
2006 - New Orleans Fabian Domes & Jesus Nunez, Heriot-Watt University, Scotland